Journal: The Rules Forbid Posthumous Nominations

December 7, 2012

in Journal Notes

I am going straight to Hell

Friday location:  Seven  |  Studio     ||     7:40 am – 6:35 pm

  • Product Development:  Carbon randonneur fork.  We’ve got an overall design mapped out.  All the features and options determined.  Matt O. is helping put the prototype together.  Bryan H. may help, too.  Neil is pulling together all the components that we’ll be testing with the fork.  Lug-work on a carbon fork?  Hmmmm.  I’m excited to test it out; I’m third in line, though.
  • Product Development:  Speaking of forks, Seven steel fork project is back on the ‘current’ list.  We started this project about 2-years ago.  It’s a long arduous project; testing, testing, pricing, sourcing, testing, welding, testing, revision, etc.  I figure in another two years we might be ready.
  • Product Design:  We spent about an hour today working on some subtle cable routing challenges regarding Seven Cycles’ low mount disc brake system.  We have about 20 cable routing options and a few of them are not good.  It took a while to work through all the ways that routing can go wrong.  If anything can go wrong it will.  Our job is to figure out all those ways so our customers don’t figure it out for us.  We’re usually pretty good about this.
  • Product Challenge of the day:  It’s a drag to be doing so many 650b mountain framesets when fork, wheel, and tire choices have not caught up to the standards available with 29er.  Customers don’t tend to notice this but I find it frustrating.
Post title:  About Rosalind Franklin:  “Unpublished drafts of her papers (written just as she was arranging to leave King’s College London) show that she had independently determined the overall B-form of the DNA helix and the location of the phosphate groups on the outside of the structure.  […]  Franklin was never nominated for a Nobel Prize.  The rules forbid posthumous nominations and because she had died in 1958, she was not eligible for nomination to the Nobel Prize subsequently awarded to Crick, Watson, and Wilkins in 1962.”

{ 0 comments… add one now }